23 Jun 2023

In 149 rounds of existence, the Dunlop Super2 Series has seen some remarkable runs from teams.

To the NTI Townsville 500, 372 races have been run and won, and 23 titles awarded.

Going through the stats, the same teams keep popping up, and one in partial stands out: MW Motorsport.

While Matthew White’s team doesn’t have a full-time presence in 2023, it remains the category’s most successful team.

Most wins, most round wins, most poles, most titles — no team can match MW Motorsport’s record.

MW Motorsport has won four titles: Jonathan Webb (2009), Dale Wood (2013), Bryce Fullwood (2019) and Thomas Randle (2020).

Eggleston Motorsport has just one title to its name — 2014 with Paul Dumbrell — but has always been in the hunt.

The Eggleston team has won 35 races and claimed 15 round wins, with rookie Cooper Murray adding to the race wins tally in Newcastle.

Main game teams Tickford Racing and Triple Eight have also featured heavily in Super2, and have — to no surprise — been successful.

Tickford won consecutive titles in 2015 (Cam Waters) and 2016 (Garry Jacobson), and has won 34 races (third all-time).

MW Motorsport won title No.4 in 2020

Triple Eight’s three titles — 2011, 2021 and 2022 — are second only to MW Motorsport, and the team has won 22 races.

Triple Eight is taking a year off in 2023 to focus on its Gen3 commitments, but Tickford has expanded to two cars, and Brad Vaughan has already taken a pole.

Don’t forget Stone Brothers Racing, with its two Super2 champions going on to become Supercars greats — Mark Winterbottom (2004) and Scott McLaughlin (2012).

Zak Best leads the 2023 standings for Super2 returnees Anderson Motorsport, having taken a race and round win in Newcastle.

Most Super2 race wins

51: MW Motorsport
35: Eggleston Motorsport
34: Tickford Racing
24: Howard Racing
22: Dick Johnson Racing, Triple Eight Race Engineering

Most Super2 round wins

21: MW Motorsport
18: Tickford Racing
15: Eggleston Motorsport
12: Triple Eight Race Engineering
11: Howard Racing
9: Dick Johnson Racing

Most Super2 poles

30: MW Motorsport
29: Tickford Racing
15: Triple Eight Race Engineering
9: Eggleston Motorsport, Howard Racing, Dick Johnson Racing

Most Super2 titles

4: MW Motorsport
3: Triple Eight Race Engineering
2: Tickford Racing, Stone Brothers Racing